HomeList of WorksSort by InstrumentationBlogContact


November 4, 2015
Luminous Travels - The Journey of LightSail-A 
for Trombone and Symphonic Band
Westmont High School - Jesse Sanchez

November 8, ​2015
HIJINX - for Soprano Saxophone 
and Symphonic Band
Cupertino Symphonic Band

December 8, 2015
Luminous Travels - The Journey of LightSail-A 
for Trombone and Symphonic Band
Fremont High School - Joseph Kelly​

Aug 16, 2015​
​A Fanfare for Curiosity - for Concert Band
Peninsula Symphonic Band
Gunn High School​

May 17, 2015
Flicker and Flare - 
for Handbell Choir and Concert Band
Bay Bells and the Cupertino Symphonic Band, 3pm
Prospect H.S., Saratoga, CA.

Jason McChristian (b.1979) is a native Californian composer whose music has been performed nationally by renowned ensembles such as the Premiere Saxophone Quartet, Nautilus Brass Quintet, and the San José Chamber Orchestra. A member of CSIC (Composers and Schools in Concert), SCI, NAfME, and ASCAP, Jason has composed for various chamber ensembles, string orchestra, and symphonic band. Jason is co-founder of South Bay Composer Collective and Melos Music and he is the Music Director and Conductor of the Cupertino Symphonic Band. He has composed for several commissions and his music is published by BCP Press.
For information regarding purchasing visit the Contact page.

November 13, 2016
A Fanfare for New Horizons
for Four Horns and Concert Band
from the NASA Fanfares
Cupertino Symphonic Band
Now Available!
Hangs and Crashes 
for Symphonic Band

A hang is a computer term for the failure of a program to continue to respond to signals, causing the operating system to freeze. Hangs occur in different ways, but this work depicts two common symptoms of the hang: "thrashing", the exhaustion of memory from rapidly exchanging data and "infinite loop", where a sequence of instructions is in no condition to stop. The work ends with the death knell to any operating system, a crash aptly named, Blue Screen of Death. Depicting failing machines, this is music marked by frequent reboots, constant bleeps, bops, clicks, the occasional rude interruption, and makes use of ever-repeating musical figures to help depict an eternal state of stuck.